The extended family is not as important now as before.

Based on the National Statistics Office, in the year 2022, 88% of the Korean populace support the perspective that extended family is as important now as before. However, unlike the consensus view, I strongly believe that family members are not as important as before: namely, grandparents, cousins, and so forth. I will delineate my thought in the following paragraphs. To begin with, in this modern society, majority of extended family members generally do not inhabit the same house. People tend to live in different places in different countries. Nevertheless, in the past, people had to occupy the same area in order to survive. Since farming requires cooperation and collective effort, they needed each other for their survival. My grandma Okja is an epitome to demonstrate my thoughts further. When she was still a child, her parents possess a large farm land. Since her parents cannot manage the farm by themselves, they invited their extended family members to join the activities. Since the farm was the only farm in the town that provided food for people, their family members volunteered for help my her parents and cooperated. Without their the family members’ assistant, it would have been difficult for all of the family members to survive. On top of that, most folks abandon their province and go to cities for better quality of life. For instance, some leave the place to study abroad, while some leave due to obtain high salaries. My own experience is a compelling demonstration to exemplify my opinion. When I was younger, since I though that studying abroad will be advantageous in attaining better occupation in the future, I decided to study abroad in the States. Since my house was far away from my cousins, there was less opportunity for meet to hang out with my cousins. For this reason, our relationship deteriorated and ended up having awkward relationship.