The environmental problem facing today s world are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation Government and large companies should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment To what e

People have divergent views about how to address the degradation of the environment in our contemporary society. While I accept that the government and firms should be accountable for mitigating the environmental depletion, I also believe that the role of ordinary people should not be overlooked On the one hand, there are two primary reasons why alleviating environmental problems should be high on the agenda of the government and firms. The first compelling reason is that the government could allocate expenditure for environmental infrastructure. a well-grounded investment into wastewater treatment systems, for example, could guarantee the water quality of the city. Another reason worth noting is that the more corporate profits industrial plants gain, the more emissions they release, so that these firms have to come up with environmentally-friendly solutions. For example, most Japanese multinational companies gradually diminish the reliance on fossil fuels by using environmentally-friendly energy sources such as wind or solar energy. On the other hand, it seems to me that the contribution of individuals could be placed a priority in terms of dealing with environmental problems. Firstly, Local contamination could be significantly curtailed if people spend more time tidying up their area. For instance, my neighborhood was cleaner than before by virtual of the implementation of many environmental volunteer campaigns. In addition, even small activities daily also make a substantial contribution to our surroundings. To be specific, air quality would be accelerated if we cycle in stead of utilizing cars, or classifying home garbage could be conducive to diminishing water and soil contaminants. In conclusion, although I recognize that this imperative issue is mostly the responsibility of the government and companies, I also argue that our environment could be enhanced thanks to constructive and practical activities of citizens.