The English Wikipedia reached 4, 000, 000 registered user accounts on 1 April 2007, [15] just a little over a year since the millionth Wikipedian registered an account in late February 2006. [1

The English Wikipedia is the English-language edition of the free online encyclopedia, Wikipedia. It was founded on 15 January 2001 as Wikipedia's first edition and, as of April 2021, has the most articles of any edition, at 6, 310, 892. [2] As of June 2021, 11% of articles in all Wikipedias belong to the English-language edition. This share has gradually declined from more than 50 percent in 2003, due to the growth of Wikipedias in other languages. [3][4] The edition's one-billionth edit was made on 13 January 2021. [5] The English Wikipedia has received praise for its enablement of democratization of knowledge and extent of coverage. [6] It is the largest encyclopedia ever assembled. [6] The Simple English Wikipedia (simplewiki) is a variation in which most articles use only basic English vocabulary.