The emergence of the COVID 19 pandemic has undoubtedly led to the retrenchments of many workers, especially in the private sectors. As a human resource manager, I would consider a few things deemed necessary while carrying out the retrenchment exercise.

The emergence of the COVID 19 pandemic has undoubtedly led to the retrenchments of many workers, especially in the private sectors. As a human resource manager, I would consider a few things deemed necessary while carrying out the retrenchment exercise. Enlightening the employees on the company’s current financial status is absolutely necessary. I think it is also important to look into their family and financial background before making a decision of termination as this will greatly impact their future. Once the decision is made, informing and explaining the reason behind the retrenchment is mandatory and the employer should make sure the employees have agreed to their termination. I would definitely practice this in the retrenchment exercise. Furthermore, I believe all employees are entitled to receive retrenchment benefits at the end of their employment especially during this pandemic regardless of being covered by the Employment Act (EA). Hence, I will make sure all employees receive their retrenchment compensation. Salary in lieu of notice should be provided to all the retrenched workers as well. It is important to understand that such payment may not satisfy their needs in a long run. Some workers might even suffer from mental illnesses such as depression or anxiety disorders as a result of unemployment. Therefore, I will make sure psychological support is given to these employees by conducting counseling sessions with special emphasis on career opportunities in other organizations. In conclusion, the retrenchment of employees should not be taken lightly and the decision should be made after thorough investigation and consideration of multiple factors in order to ease the process for both the employer and the employees.