Artificial Intelligence and machine learning for separating wastes

This work proposes an autonomous waste separation system in three classes (Organic, Plastic and Paper) as a way to optimize the recycling process, incorporating an artificial intelligence algorithm that allows to recognize and classify the different waste in the mentioned classes by means of a mechanism of pulleys and motors so that these are deposited in the right place, without the need for human intervention, it is also proposed to design as complements to the general mechanism, a chatbot that communicates with the cleaning staff at the time when the containers (bins) are full. For the first part of the proposal, i. e. , the algorithm, a dataset created by the team is used in which photos of a large amount of solid waste are found, and through deep learning techniques a CNN (Convolutional Neural Network) is trained with this dataset where the 3 classes of waste that are handled are specified. For the second stage of the proposal, a mechanism of pulleys with toothed chain is used to transport a capsule (containing the waste) through the general structure, this movement is performed by a DC motor and the stopping points are delimited with reflex infrared sensors, this process begins when the AI (Artificial Intelligence) mentioned in the previous point, communicates with an Arduino and sends it the data of what type of waste has just been deposited, consequently the motor of the mechanism is activated and when the capsule is in the right place, the lower zone of the mechanism opens by means of a servomotor and the waste falls due to gravity, finally the mechanism returns to the initial position. Finally, the chatbot is used as soon as the cleaning staff receives a notification via Telegram. It can be seen that the sum of the deep learning algorithm together with the internal deposit mechanism, allows an optimized waste separation process that culminates in a good recycling process.