Controversies surrounding the design of the curriculum never seem to cease

Controversies surrounding the design of the curriculum never seem to cease. Although it appears convincing to many people that teenagers ought to improve cooking skills and food sciences, I lean towards the idea that essential subjects must deserve a place in their curriculum. On the one hand, It is understandable why crucial subjects are indispensable in a student’s courses. The reason is each subject which they learn at school also gives many advantages to their life. The first example is literature, children can develop their linguistic skills because of the wide vocabulary they learn from many different texts. Therefore, it will be easier for them to express their ideas in a more concise and coherent way. The second one is physical education. Although students only learn this subject once or twice a week, it provides a better awareness of a healthy lifestyle and the scientific training methods. Obviously, it is an effective way to stay in shape. On the other hand, there are several reasons why cooking skills and food sciences are in demand at schools. The primary reason is it may give school-age students knowledge about how to have proper diets because the balance of nutrients in the body is necessary to maintain good health and avoid many diseases like obesity. Therefore, a good understanding of the combination of ingredients can help students maintain a healthy diet. The second reason is it is essential to nurturing student’s independence. According to a survey in Vietnam in 2018, 60 percent of adolescents did not know how to cook or make their own food. As a result, cooking lessons at school may not only equip them with basic survival skills but also enhance their adaptability. In conclusion, my opinion is despite necessitates time for a critical course, students should spend more time enhancing the science of food and how to prepare it.