The Effects of Traffic jams in Cities

Traffic congestion is one of the most serious problems in cities. It has a negative impact on the life of people. This essay will discuss the effects that arise due to high traffic. First of all, traffic jam has a bad effect on the economy. It is true that people pay a lot of money for expenses related to transportation such as transportation costs or fuel consumption. Instead of using a certain amount of petrol on the road, they have to expend more petrol to wait long hours. Moreover, congestion costs include vehicle maintenance. Because of frequent starting and stopping on the congested roadway, some engines may have the problem, not including bad weather like rain, these things all need to fix and replace. Secondly, congestion results in environmental issues as well. Each day, tons of CO2 are released into the environment. That’s the reason why this had the main impact on increasing the greenhouse effect and the earth is hotter and hotter. Otherwise, it negatively affects the air quality for individuals, it’s called air pollution. Acid rain also appeared in some places, causing harm to people. The next impact of traffic jams is on human health. Diseases related to air pollution caused by traffic jams are inevitable. For example, many people die from respiratory illnesses or lung cancer, asthma attacks every year. Although they know and avoid pollution, there is no way to solve it completely. Moreover, during the time in the roadways, people are forced to spend extra time. These impacts can increase stress from driving in stop-and-go traffic. Both drivers and passengers can feel frustrated and helpless to get to their destinations. Finally, some of things such as meetings, school, work will be delayed and wasted time. Traffic can make people late for work. For example, if someone has a meeting, not only that person but also people in that meeting will postpone. At peak hours, people spend too much time staying in the roadways, the time is dead and useless. To sum up, there are four negative effects of traffic congestion effect on the economy, environment, human health, and some other things.