the effects of deforestation

Deforestation, which has been occuring at an alarming rate for the last few decades, negatively affects both humans and wildlife. Firstly, human alternation of landscape is one of the driving forces behind climate change. When trees, a natural carbon sink, are cut down, carbon dioxide is released into the air, which creates greenhouse effects, accelerating global warming. This leads to the increase in the frequency and intensity of extreme weather such as hurricanes and cyclones, wreaking havoc on human society. For example, for the last few years, there has been an increase in the number of typhoons occuring in Indonesia per year, causing numerous human and economic loss. Secondly, deforestation has pushed numerous species to the verge of extinction. Due to animals’ reliant on forest for food and shelter, clearing of forest brings about lack of sustanence and destruction of breeding ground, leading to starvation and reducing the number of individual of one species. When the fatality rate far exceed the birth rate, it causes the extinction of the species suffering from these problems. For instance, orangutan, inhabiting the tropical forest in Indonesia and Malaysia, has lost the majority of its population due to habitat loss caused by excessive deforestation. In conclusion, deforestation has a devastating effect on the environment; therefore, we must make an determine effort in stopping this problem in order to maintain the health of our planet.