The link between Air Pollution and Dementia

A number of studies have been carried out on the effects of air pollution on human health, especially on brain function. One of the issues that has been emphasized in this research is the impact of air pollution on development and the increased risk of dementia and, what can be done to minimize the effect. This essay will determine whether air pollution may be the cause of dementia and possible means of reducing complications. I suppose I should begin by highlighting the fact that air pollution leads to a wide range of health problems, including dementia. According to the results of air pollution studies, certain particles, such as tiny chemicals, metals, particles and gases, can enter the brain. One of the possible ways to enter in to the brain is from olfactory bulb, which is located inside the top of our noses and, allows odorous brain cells to capture the odors of our surroundings. Thus, long-term exposure to them will lead to health conditions that affect the brain and heart and lungs. This is demonstrated by studies that has been carried out on mice and dogs living in polluted areas. Exposure of mice and rats to pollution from laboratory circulation has resulted in symptoms such as decreased learning, memory and motor skills. This finding indicates that air pollution may be associated with cognitive impairment. However, in people, there are some studies that show that those exposed to high levels of pollutants perform worse on cognitive tests over time. I guess it's because iron oxide particles from air pollution sources got into people's minds when they were exposed to pollution. Therefore, the chances of them having or developing dementia will be enhanced by the amount of time they have been exposed to air pollution. Another feature I should mention is the importance of accepting the association between air pollution and dementia and try to reduce the chances of contracting the disease. since air pollution is already considered harmful for many reasons, including its negative impact on health and indirectly increases our risk of developing dementia. Real changes should be done to improve the quality of the air we breathe. For example, there are a few things that you can do to reduce your exposure to air pollution such as: Check for alerts of high pollution days and avoid exercising outdoors, Limiting the use of wood burning stoves or gas cookers or use your car when is necessary. You may be asking where this happens in highly developed nations? The answer is yes, there are currently 850, 000 people living with dementia in the UK. With that number set to rise to over one million by 2025. In order to solve this problem, politicians of United Kingdom begin making huge changes on legislation and policies to improve the quality of the air. This could potentially result in a significant reduction in the number of new cases of dementia. To summarize, the evidence indicates that increased exposure to air pollutants is associated with an increased risk of dementia. And if the government and individuals do not begin to reduce air pollution the outcome would be tremendous on the health of all humanity.