The effect of teenage drug abuse

Drug abuse among teenagers continues to be a major problem in many societies all over the world. Everybody knows bad things can happen to drug users. When teenagers use drugs, the negative effects can be seen in family relationships, academic performance, and even criminal behavior. The first effect of teenage drug abuse often leads to a breakdown in family relationships. Teens who have used drugs often tend to stop communicating with people around them, especially their families. People who use drugs often act strangely to hide their work and when their parents suspect it, they may lie. Or at worst, they will run away from home. The second effect of teenage drug abuse is that they will live loose lives, truant and absent from school. They are no longer interested in studying nor are they interested in achievements, books, assignments, lectures, etc. And they often skip school to be with their friends who do drugs. . Or they may start bothering other kids at school. Besides, if teens become addicted to drugs, they will do almost anything, sometimes even commit crimes, to get drugs. Drugs are very expensive, so teenagers often run out of money to buy them, so they will lie to ask their parents for money. If they are not given, they will steal money from their parents. Or in case the parents run out of money, they may kill people to steal property. In conclusion, when teens become drug abusers, there are negative consequences not only for the teens themselves but also for their families, friends, and social groups. In the short term, these effects are destructive enough, but they also have long term effects. Because we look to the young to shape the future of society, we must ensure that this future is in good hands. If it is not, societal problems can only get worse.