The effect of technology in our relationships

In this modern world, technology advancement becomes the fuel to drive connection between people. There are a lot of impacts resulted from the development of internet, computers, gadget, artificial intelligence, and other machineries. One of the effects is how it shape people in socializing with others. Firstly, technology brings us closer, for example, we can contact our relatives from other town or country by simply use call, or video call. In other case, we do not necessarily need to go to places to meet people, we can have video conferencing such as zoom to attend meetings. Thirdly, we are able socialize more because we can just easily chat and contact people by using our phone. But, it also negatively affect the relationship that we build. Even though we can easily connect to others from far, we can create a distant relationship with those who are close to us, because we are too busy to have a talk with our surroundings. Other thing is, we can not be fully present. After all, call or chat may feel different with face to face interaction. And the last, we never know what our friends really express at the moment, as we can not read the facial expression and gesture. In short, the rapid transition in technology has caused a lot of effects on our society, especially how we communicate with others. It has both positive and negative effects, and it is ourselves who are able to choose whether we want to use it for good or not.