The economic development plays a major role in people’s lives. Economic growth in both developed and developing countries make the country richer, but it is believed that people in developing countries are happier that those in developed ones.

It is argued by many that despite the massive economic growth in both developed and developing countries, citizen in developing ones are happier than those in richer ones. In my opinion, however, it must be the other way around due to the fact that those in wealthier ones have more privileges. In this essay, I will elaborate on why developed regions might have happier citizen than less privilege ones. Firstly, a study by a research company on 2016 discovered that there is a correlation between wealth and happiness to a certain extent. The more wealth we possess, we are more likely to be happy. Developed continents are undeniably wealthier than the less wealthy countries. Owning to this fact, I believe that the individuals within the continent must be more content. In addition, richer regions facilitate an abundance of privileges and resources to their people which are undoubtedly advantageous for them. For example, Finland, whom citizen is regarded as the happiest in the world, provides its people with an outstanding education curriculum that is considered as the best among others. Therefore, I think it proves that wealthier ones have opportunity to give more privilege to its people and thus leads to a more content society. In conclusion, as proven by a research and a result in one of wealthiest continents that wealth makes us happier, I do not agree with the opinion that less wealthy ones have happy society. I firmly believe that richer regions have more content society than developing ones.