The different fasting in christian and islam

Comparative examines common themes and fundamental patterns of religious expressions among religions. . . There are some differences way between Christian and Muslim that they have own purposes why some religion have to fasting. Fasting in Christianity is a form of humility before God, a symbol of regret and repentance, an expression of the deepest petition to God and a sign of a true servant of God. Each church teaches its people to take the time to pray as often as possible and fast with desires, their sincerity is not due to coercion because in their trust that Jesus neither ate nor drank for 40 day and 40 nights in the desert with many trials that Jesus faced. The Christians practice various periods of fasting, mainly: lent 40 days of fasting in preparation for Easter (1 Corinthians 7: 1-5). Day of atonement, Christians are commanded to fast down from sundown to sundown (Leviticus 23: 27-32). Moreover, nativity fasting 40 days of fasting in preparation for Christmas is mainly practiced by Orthodox Christians. Fasting in certain things other than fasting for eating and drinking is fasting about the routine that is often done which Christians like the most. For example, fasting playing video games or listening to songs for one month or within a certain period of time, are also other examples of a routine where when you are not fasting it is difficult to avoid routines like those that are fasting in Protestantism. On the other hand, The Muslim are fasting on the month of Ramadan is decreed upon every adult and mature Muslim, male, female (not on her period), healthy and not traveling. In Islam, women who are menstruating are prohibited from praying and fasting. Some people view the prohibition as proof that women who are menstruating are dirty and unclean. What is meant is Islam holds that women who are menstruating are still pure and clean like women in general, what is dirty and unclean is the blood that comes out during menstruation. There are many motives or reasons that underlie Muslims firmly in fasting. First, gain piety. As mentioned in Al-Baqarah verse 183, the purpose of fasting is to be pious. It means to practice mental and moral discipline, and become a pious person, carry out all orders and stay away from His prohibitions. Second, the protector from hell that fasts is a shield that keeps a person from doing things that make him fall into hell. Third, get God's forgiveness. Muslims observe fasting so that their sins both past and future are forgiven by Allah. Fourth, fasting to be healthy. Fasting can make a person physically healthy as well as spiritually healthy. Fifth, strengthen the pillars of religion. Islam has five pillars of religion, namely the creed, prayer, alms, fasting, and hajj. Consequently if a Muslim fasts, then he has strengthened the pillars of their religion.