The differences between Western and Eastern cultures.

Eastern culture includes Asia and the Middle East, while the western world includes South and North America, European countries, New Zealand and Australia. The East and West have many differences based on their culture which is reflected in people’s attitudes and behavior. The difference between western and eastern cultures can be seen by looking at the role of elders. In eastern cultures, elders are the leaders in the home, so children do what the elders say without questioning them. Any important decisions to do with a child are generally made by an elder When /a comparison/ between/ eastern and western culture/ is made, one of the key differences/ between 2 culture/ is that/ a person from the West is more free and flexible to reach decisions on his/her own, unlike what happens/ in the East /where families make more decisions collectively. When parents grow old, children are often the ones who take on the responsibility of caring for them. Often in western cultures, an elderly person’s welfare becomes the responsibility of the state in collaboration with children or other close relatives. It The comparison between eastern and western culture shows that western education focuses on creativity and allows individuals to develop as much as they can. In Eastern education, the achievement is linked to struggle and hard work. This means you can achieve anything if you work hard enough. Students from eastern cultures often excel academically when in a western educational environment because they work harder than western children. Students in western culture are encouraged to actively participate in debates and ask questions. This is not so much the case in eastern cultures where what the teacher says is always right. Added to this is the extra effort in western cultures to integrate children who are classified as special needs. They sit in classrooms alongside other students. This doesn’t often happen in eastern cultures where special needs children are taught separately. Overall, when a comparison between eastern and western culture is made at this point in time, there is not a lot that the two cultures have in common but each should be respected for what they stand for and achieve.