The differences between living in the dorm and rent a room outside campus

Living in the dorm and renting a room on lease are marked as distinctive for two main reasons as follows. First of all, the most perceptible factor between the two options is the price and facilities. As a matter of fact, dormitories are much cheaper than rental apartments. To explain this, while student residential areas offer basic amenities only, off-campus living spaces provide a wider range of infrastructure, some of which are unique when compared to dorm units, such as kitchens and various electrical appliances. Another element putting each housing type into perspective is the privacy and curfews. Rented condos allow their residents to commute, even late at night. In contrast, the dorm expects its students to be inside the living areas around ten p. m. Besides, college dorms have many students living under the same roof. Therefore, the level of privacy is often quite low. On the other hand, students living in rental apartments have their own bedroom and hardly share the spaces with many others. To sum up, the two above points have signified the notable discrepancies between boarding houses or rental units, and choosing either of them depends heavily on students’ needs and financial capability.