The Difference Between Dramas and TV Shows

Today, entertainment is a basic human need, and television remains an important source of entertainment for its users. In our daily lives, television is indispensable to the modern household. More and more considerable TV programs are created to satisfy the audience’s needs. TV programs can be divided into two classifications, which are dramas and TV shows. The classification criterion is that people in the programs whether act other characteristics or not. In dramas, people should become others and experience stories that didn’t happen to them. The purpose of dramas is to make the audience experience accidents that are unusual or even impossible for them. Audiences can be satisfied by dramas because they can see the whole story as if they were on the spot. There are different kinds of dramas, such as: comedy, tragedy, tragicomedy, . . . Each of them has its own characteristics and has different audiences. Dramas satisfy the audience’s imaginations so that they are always appealing to people. In contrast, people in TV shows didn’t need to become others but play games or do activities to make the audience happy. Depending on the purpose of a TV show, they can make the audience laugh or gain knowledge. TV shows have many forms that are related to a particular topic or field, including talk-shows, game-shows, music-shows, or combinations of different forms. The audience will get pleasure because of seeing others behave stupidly or listening to jokes in TV shows. The development of television programs blurred the distinction between these two kinds. However, we can still see features of them in the new forms of TV programs. The needs of the audience are becoming more diverse, so the television stations need diversity in their TV programs to meet the audience’s needs.