Nowadays, there is a growing number of people who choose to reject orthodox science to embrace pseudo-science though many of those are highly educated in the subject. What do you think are the reasons and how would you try to resolve this situation.

In modern society, it has been brought to attention that there has been an increase in the number of people, among them are scholars, who refuse to believe in conventional scientific systems as well as promote pseudo-science. In this essay, I will discuss some causes and the solutions for this problem. Firstly, in my opinion, the most important cause of this issue is the majority of residents have been losing faith in the government. They believe that the government has stopped protecting the benefit of its people by acting in the favour of companies providing science-related services. In their opinion, the government fails when it allows the market to be controlled by those major corporations when it gives them permission to sell and promote their products unsupervised (unregulated). In order to solve this, the laws concerning this issue should be renovated in the form of adding new regulations on the supervision of the testing and the marketing process of science-related products. Moreover, lobbying for this kind of product should be carefully inspected so as to prevent bribery and other dishonest practices. In some countries, there has been a widespread misleading campaign targeting intellectual individuals who were once thought to be humankind’s strongest barrier against fake news. Though surprising, this phenomenon is not totally implausible. The reason why highly educated people can fall for this trap is called ‘imposter syndrome’ which makes the affected question their own belief or their knowledge. Hence, when they encounter misinformation, they either fail to disprove it or consider it to be logical, both leading to them straying further from orthodox science. The solution to this is rather simple but can be challenging to accomplish. While striving for wisdom, one must have faith in what they are able to achieve so far, especially when the knowledge is backed with strong evidence. In other words, confidence is the key to preventing the downward spiral into misinformation. In conclusion, in order for citizens to remain faithful to orthodox science, while the government tries to improve the legal system, the educated put their knowledge into good use by invalidating pseudo-science with logic and evidence.