Many people believe that the high levels of violence in films today are causing serious social problems. What are these problems and how could they be reduced?

Many movies now are depending on action and fight scenes so that they can appeal to the largest number of audiences. It is rare to find a movie or a TV show without verbal or physical violence. Thriller and horror movies are very popular and it is packed theatres, TV stations, and online platforms. These movies are highly accessible regardless of the age of the viewers and this has led to a lot of social problems inside communities. One of the main problems is that most audiences tend to imitate these scenes. Many viewers especially adolescents and young ones, are identifying with movie characters and want to look and act like them. This has led to an increase in levels of crime and violence among people and there is a significant rise in assault and attack incidents that are taking place now and then in very crowded places such as schools, markets, malls. As the result, many innocent people have lost their lives, and thousands got injured, furthermore, there was turbulence and instability in society that had a huge impact on businesses, tourism, and economic development. In addition, the high rate of verbal abuse and physical violence in movies caused a fracture in social relationships and subsequently, the levels of domestic violence are soaring. This can have serious effects on kids who are involved, as many of them are suffering mentally and psychologically, or becoming homeless, or living in foster homes for the rest of their lives. To tackle these serious issues measures have to be taken on different levels. Regulations and rules must put in place in order to decrease the rates of violent scenes in all kinds of performing arts and restrict the most violent and gory ones to adult audiences only. Educational institutions and parents have to watch their kids’ behavior and deal with any tendency to violence with proper psychological and social guidance. Another important thing is to promote awareness about the implications of violence on society and the importance of dismantling hostility that can be fed with onscreen violence. In conclusion, movies now contain a lot of violence and action scenes to attract more audiences and gain high profits. This has a lot of consequences in communities and created problems such as the growth of crime and hostility among citizens because of the imitation of these violent sequences, besides, break in relationships and increase in domestic violence which could ruin the lives of thousands of children around the world.