In some countries, owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or a negative situation? In the past, it was very common that people live in rented houses or flats and a few of them owned their houses. However, in recent years there is a new trend of buying and owning houses in most countries all over the world. People tend to choose and buy the place they are going to live in for the rest of their lives so that they can feel actually that they are home. Through the years, people’s perspective towards living in a place that is not theirs changed completely. Many of them are preferring to purchase the house or flat that they are going to live in for many years ahead, especially if they are considering starting up a family of their own. It is very obvious that people’s tendencies towards having their own home are due to their desire of achieving security and stability for their families. They believe that if they own their houses they will not have to worry about paying rent every month. Furthermore, several people feel that owning houses or flats is an indication of high social status. In addition, for most people home ownership is considered a kind of investment or asset that they can sell if they incur any financial loss or problems. From my point of view, I think that this is a very positive trend and something that every family has to consider if they want to create a stable and better life for their kids. When families live in their own houses or flats they provide their kids an opportunity to grow in the same place without having to move from one place to another which can affect their mental and psychological health very badly by taking them from familiar surroundings and apart them from their friends. Also, it is a huge burden for any family to be forced to search for a new home or apartment constantly and they could spend months before finding a suitable or affordable place they can move in especially with the continuous rise in rents now and again. These issues and difficulties are very apparent in Egypt particularly with the new rent law that gives the owners the right to rent their properties for the duration they want even if it just two or three years and they can increase the rent considerably at every time. This is deemed to be a vital problem that faces most families and in particular the young couples. To sum up, it is becoming very popular among people nowadays to buy houses due to many reasons, such as achieve stability and security for their own families, also as kind of investment or asset in case of any financial difficulties, or just a sign of high social standard. This new trend can have a lot of benefits for kids who will be able to live their lives in the same place and not have to be taken to another they are not used to, besides takes off the burden of searching and finding a new home for families and give them the home of their lifetime.