The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken legally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning one language in the world?

It is well known that English had gained a lot of popularity owning to rise in people traveling to foreign lands in past few decades. A number of people believe that in the coming future, it will be the sole language used world-wide. If it happens so, although the language barrier we face now would be resolve, but will lead to disappearing of different cultures as we observe them now. On the one hand, adapting a single language in the whole world will make performing bussiness and forming aliance with an another country simpler and convienent. To ponder upon, the sector of tourism will be benfited a lot as the dwellers may go any where on earth and will be to converse easily. Hence, it will provide all the countries an opportunity to increase their gross GDP. For example, according to a survey in 2016, 80% of the residents of the USA tends to opt for a english-speaking destination for holidays. Another side of the topic in discussion, our culture is associated with our language; hence when we stop using it, the essence and values of our religion will start fading as well. To explicate, folk-lores and important information has had been jotted down by our ancestors in their mother’s tongue. Consequently, to preserve our treasures we ought to continue every language. A salient example would be, in India, historians are unable to decrpyt approximately 50-60% of textuals data, which they believe could have provided some meaningful insights, found as they are written in a discontinued language. In a way of conclusion, this essay has discussed the pros and cons of english being an universal tongue. While it will make transactions and traveling to different nation more likeable, the preservation of one’s past will become an enormous issue.