Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people think that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in.

Globalisation, technology and media have hit the world with a greater force than we could have imagined. With these changing times, most young people now prefer expending their leisure times at malls rather than having a constructive hobby. Some opine that the practice of consuming too much time in shopping centres could be detrimental for youth and society as a whole, which I agree with. To begin with, most teenagers and youngsters acquire either from their pocket money or their parent’s money, usually to show off. For example, an 18-year-old will probably acquire an expensive dress to brandish in front of her friends or a young man will get an expensive phone to display his wealth. However, This money is put to better use, like, education for the poor or self-improvement can ensure a better community. In addition, going to shopping centres is not just about paying for things anymore they often go to these shopping arcades in order to try out a food chain. Doing this regularly can have adverse effects on the health of the individual. Excessive purchasing also affects civilization. It leads to excessive consumption which is detrimental to the environment. Also, when young people are obsessed with spending, they will fall into the debt trap. As they cannot find enough money to fulfil their buying goals or to pay off their deficits caused by extravagant buying, youngsters may get into illegal activities like robbery, shoplifting or even smuggling. All of these has a detrimental effect on community. In conclusion, purchasing is good so long as it is done in moderation. If young people spend an excessive amount of time in malls, they will not have much time to focus on their studies and they will also fall into debt which hurts them as well as their society.