The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Nowadays, tourism was the important factor of English becoming the most important language in the world. Consequently, some people believe that this might cause the situation where English will be the only globally spoken language. This might bring either positive or negative results which I will demonstrate in this essay. First, the significant benefit of English spoken globally is the possibility for people to live and work in every country, without an obstacle, such as the language barrier. If everyone was speaking English, it would be much easier to move out for a few years and gain experience from living abroad. For instance, foreign employers would not have a demand to learn the local language. Another advantage of one language in the world is undemanding business contact between two countries. As the result, this might lead to the improvement of the market. On the other hand, there are disadvantages of having only one language. To begin, that situation can consequently cause the local languages disappearance, depraving societies huge part of the culture. It is commonly known that the researches of the development of the way people have been speaking throughout the ages, provide us with broad knowledge about the region history. Additionally, some languages have their own names for local products, for example in Vietnamese, some fruits that grow only in Vietnam do not possess English translation. This might lead to many confusions. In conclusion, although it seems to be more simple to have only one language spoken globally, and English might be the easy choice due to its popularity caused by tourism development, the language is an enormous cultural aspect of each region. Therefore, we should take care of its preservation.