The development of technology in the last century

The development of technology in the last century has greatly changed our lives however relationships have been impacted negatively. This essay is going to discuss in greater detail the positive and negative impacts technology has had on relationships. Firstly, technological development has made it very easier to reach someone across long distances which makes it easier to keep in touch and manage a relationship with someone who is far away. For example, with the help of phone calls, texting, and social media someone is capable of continuing contact with a sibling or a friend who moved cities. While some might argue that such relationships are not strong or meaningful enough, I think that without technology long distance relationships would have been almost impossible to keep. On the other hand, people’s ability to form short distance relationships has worsened since the invention of smartphones and social media. Most Teenagers and adults prefer to talk on the phone or text each other and don’t want to go out. In addition, without seeing each other in flesh people are unable to perceive small details about the person their talking to, for example how he reacts to certain topics or ideas, whether he is lying or not and much more. Although people claim that seeing each other in person is not necessary, body language is still a huge part of who we are that stays hidden while talking on the phone. To sum up technology has had both positive and negative impact on relationships. Nevertheless, it is my view that the negative impacts far outweigh the positives.