The death penalty is the best way to control and reduce serious crime.

In the past decade, the violent crimes have been on the increase. This leads many people to believe that the death penalty can prove to be an effective measure to reduce criminal offences, while the other section of people believes the opposite. I agree with the foremost view. Firstly, many think that capital punishment is of no use in curbing the violence. They give arguments that no one in this world has any right to take life. Additionally, most of the time criminals are not in the right frame of mind while they are committing lawlessness, therefore they are not able to evaluate the situation correctly. Hence, instead of capital punishments they should be given a chance to reform their lives. Moreover, there have been instances where innocent have been sentenced to death. For example, in China, the innocence of a man from Beijing, was proved 18 years after his death. On the contrary, it is necessary to maintain law and order in the society else no criminal will feel fear. The strict punishments induce fear in the mind of offenders. Thus, they might think of punishment before planning and plotting of the lawlessness and can decide to refrain themselves. Furthermore, it helps in restoring faith in the judicial system. For instance, the capital punishment for the Delhi case rapists for their heinous act, will help restore faith of many in the system. In addition, this helps the government save the expenses of the criminals, which can be spent for the betterment of the nation. To conclude, death sentence might have some disadvantages, but I believe that it is the best possible way to help curb the violent and serious crime. It is a must for every nation to provide its citizens the much needed security to live peacefully.