Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

It is argued by many people that the amount of waste from homes is not sufficient, and the sole approach to increase this is to mandate recycling. While I am in favor of the given opinion, I believe that governments not only should make it compulsory for people to recycle their wastes but provide a number of incentives to motivate them. Some people, including me, put forward this argument that the sole approach to increase the amount of recycled waste from dwellings is to make it mandatory. As many people are not aware of how they should recycle and know it a laborsome work, they are not likely to do it voluntarily. Therefore, governments should make it a legal requirement so that people feel they are obligated to recycle their wastes. For this purpose, authorities can start obligating people to recycle at least a portion of their wastes as a minimum and then gradually increase this minimum until everyone gets into this habit. In the meantime, governments' endeavors should not be limited to introducing policies and legislations. They can provide incentives to motivate individuals more. Offering tax rebates, for example, can be a feasible option. The more waste people recycle, the more rebates they receive. Also, they can educate people through launching campaigns promoting recycling and its benefits to the environment. In conclusion, although I believe that increasing the amount of recycled waste needs governments to make it obligatory, authorities should back this up by offering taxing benefits and educating the public.