The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Smoking is the most destructive unhealthy habit mankind ever witnessed. Most smokers in the society are well aware of the harm it does to their body. However, people are so reluctant to stop that habit. This essay will discuss about the two main causes for this issue and also suggests the solutions for these causes. One of them is the lack of awareness about the alternatives of stress reduction. Most smokers believe that smoking is the best solution to relieve the stress that they face in their daily life. For example, we see a lot of corporate employees smoking during their working hours to beat the stress they face due to their hectic work schedule. But, in my opinion it is their ignorance about the art of managing stress in an effective way. The best solution to this issue is to try intermittent meditation, which can be practiced literally by sitting any where and at any time. Thus, by practicing this, the mind can be relaxed and will be charged to perform effectively. The second main cause for the smokers reluctance towards quitting smoking is their weak will power. Majority of the smokers must have tried quitting smoking at least once in their life time. Yet, they couldn't withstand against the withdrawal symptoms for longer. So, this is the reason they were never able to quit smoking. In fact, a recent survey conducted by the ITC has proved the same. One effective solution that the government could provide for the society is to promote the anti smoking helper products like 'No Nicotine' which helps in causing the same effect of smoking cigarette without actually smoking one. To conclude, by making the society aware of these alternative and there by boosting the individual's will power and the determination to quit smoking can really make this habit vanish.