The dangers of smoking are well know, yet many people continue this habit. what are the causes of this? how can we reduce smoking in society?

Smoking is an evil which self advertises itself, everyone knows it is harmful, but it is difficult to let go of its aura. This essay discusses about the various causes of why the habit still continues to rise in the society and what can be done to reduce it. The major cause for the same is the sort of glamour associated with smoking, which has been cultivated carefully over the years by the Tobacco companies. For example, if you look at any Hollywood cult classics from the sixties and the seventies, cigarette defines a major part of the hero's character. A cigarette smoking hero was considered cool, and the fans obviously added the same to their daily life. This menace was left to run unchecked due to highly lucrative tobacco business and heavy lobbying from the cigarette manufacturers. For instance, the recent reports from the school health authorities point that kids as young as seven are smoking. For controlling the habit of smoking, governments have to bring in strict legislations. Some suggestions which are commonly raised are for heavy taxes, ban on public marketing of tobacco products, public health workshops etc. For instance, Gulf countries have strict restrictions for the purchase and consumption of alcohol, something similar should be considered for tobacco products as well. From a personal point of view, I would also suggest that topics depicting the dangers of smoking to be included as part of the school curriculum. It is very high time that we as a society decided to do something to control the spread of this habit, or else we will only have ourselves to blame for when heart diseases become as common cold.