The customer is always right

The subject of discussion is “The customer is always right”. From my point of view, this saying is not true. But in order to look more professional and to have less difficulties, services should follow a few things, that can help. Firstly, customer service should know that people can be very much different, have different opinion and behaviour. Staff should be ready to meet angry customers and nevertheless - keep calm to protect company reputation. They must understand, that they are receiving complaints about service of their companies, not personally about them, even if the letter includes abuse of authority. So answers should be neutral and without their own bad opinions, even if they exist. Secondly, it is a good solution to make customers feel right, even if they are not. It will be helpful to change their attitude to the service in a good way, because most people want to be right. Some excuses and promises for future improvements can help. It is also a good idea to express gratitude to the customer for paying attention to a problem with the service. Thirdly, it is pretty essential to create a feeling in the customers that their request is very important and support team are working hard and looking for a solution. Frankly speaking, customers, especially dissatisfied ones, do not like to wait a long time for getting answers, so quick responses are also really important. In conclusion, I want to pay attention again about saying “Customer is always right”. Customers can be right, but very often they can be wrong. If support team work correctly, they will make them always feel right and understand their importance. It matters most.