The best way to motivate employees is to increase their salary. Are there other ways to encourage employees to work better?

All companies recognise the importance of motivating their staff to work efficiently. Some think that increasing salaries is the most effective incentive; however, there are other methods worth considering. In my opinion, the best way to motivate employees is the one that works long-term. In general, I believe that people who earn more money work better. In this sense, increasing salary can help a company to encourage its employees to work more productively. However, several months after the increase, employees get used to the new salary and their motivation falls to the usual level. Also, if all staff receive the same salary increase, there is no real motivation for individual employees to work harder. Instead of increasing salaries, a company can introduce bonuses for its best- performing employees. For example, in banking, most people work hard because their bonuses may vary between 10 and 30 per cent of their annual income, depending on their performance. Such a method of remuneration will keep employees motivated every year. Apart from bonuses, companies can offer non-monetary incentives. For instance, a company can give an “Employee of the month” award to its best employee. Such awards will not cost the company anything but people will feel that their efforts are recognised and appreciated. In conclusion, it seems that increasing salaries is not the best way to motivate employees. Even though it is likely to raise motivation for a short period of time, this method will not work in the long term. Instead, companies should introduce incentives linked to employee performance, such as bonuses and non- monetary awards.