As global trade increases, many good, even some daily goods, are exported to another country, which includes long-distance transport during shipping. Do you think its benefits outweigh its drawbacks?

With the improvement of globalization, it is true that international business becomes a common phenomenon in contemporary society. This trend not only allows people to purchase items from overseas easily but also promotes the development of the economy. In my opinion, I believe that the changes bring more advantages than disadvantages due to the reasons below. First and foremost, in terms of ascending choices on products, residents can enjoy a better price on the same type of products. This means that, because of an increasing number of imported goods, the markets will be adequately competitive. To attract more customers, brands considered to deduct the price and upgrade the performance. In that case, citizens’ life changed from shopping within limited brands to simply access a bigger range of the same type and ended up finding the most cost-effective items. For instance, people living in Tasmania only used a few locally produced clothes which are normally pricy in the 1990s. However, Tasmanians now have enormous choices to buy high-quality wearables in merely half of the price, compared to the last decades. Furthermore, global trade also contributes dramatically to tax revenues. As we all know, almost imported items are required to pay an amount of money to the authorities. So if there are more intaking items, the governments will be able to receive higher taxes. With a higher income of a country, the economy is obviously developing and the money would be able to benefit local residents by upgrading infrastructures and public services. Nevertheless, it is not saying that there is no drawback of imported products, and the most obvious one is that the long shipment may cause some daily goods not fresh. This is because the quality guarantee period of daily products is relatively low, such as fresh milk and cherries, while this problem can be tackled. For instance, Australia has applied express shipping by aircraft for exported cherries recently, and most of the customers in China can receive the Tasmania Cherries in just 3 or 4 days which leaves them sufficient time to enjoy the delicious food. In conclusion, the globalization of the economy can bring cost-effective items to consumers as well as high tax revenues to governments. Even though some dairy and fruit may face the problem with freshness, this is totally solvable. Above all, I deem that this trend can result in more positive effects than negative ones.