A person should not make an important decision alone.

Decision making have been a really controversial issue. Many prominent experts wrote various practical books on this matter. Some people believe that an individual should make an important decision based on his thoughts, beliefs, and experiences because he knows his situation better than anyone else. However, from my vantage point, a person should get dozens of advice from different people because he can use their experience, and see the problem from different angles. First and foremost, asking people about a specific problem can help a person to use others experiences. None of us have experienced all the situations and problems such as choosing a career, buying a dwelling, investing money, and so on. Therefore, we cannot rely on our knowledge and experience to make a good decision. By making a decision alone, we may judge it just from our past experiences which is really limited. Thus, we should never make an important decision alone. Some people even believe that experience is the best tool in decision making. By asking experienced people such as our parents, grandparents, teachers, or professors about an issue, they can pave the way for us and show us the consequences of a decision. For instance, last year I wanted to buy a house for myself, so I asked my parents and uncles about a good neighborhood in our city compatible to my budget. They talked to me about their past experiences in residing in different neighborhoods. As a result, I bought the best house I could afford with considering their comments, and now I am really happy about asking them. Thus, the more we get advice from qualified people, the better we can make a decision. Furthermore, by not making a decision on our own, we can evaluate an important problem from different perspectives. Every human raised in a unique situation and has its own beliefs and points of view. We can use these various notions in decision making. Asking knowledgeable people about their way of thinking about a subject can help us to become familiar with the merits and drawbacks of an important decision. As a result, we can evaluate this matter thoroughly and make the best decision in a shorter span of time. Recently conducted research from a prestigious university in my country, Iran, shows that people listening to the advice of professionals made better decisions than people who took their decisions alone. Also, many books accentuate on the importance of consulting when you want to make an important decision because we make irrational decisions. Hence, the more we acquire opinion from people on a single problem, the better we can evaluate its outcomes. All in all, making an important decision alone not only can restrict our outlook about a problem, but also may bring about very bad results. It is predicted that schools and universities will teach decision making courses in their curriculum and discourage them on making an important decision alone.