The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology which can prevent and solve crime.

Crime is unquestionably one of the most prevailing issues in most countries. Some people claim that the downward trend of crime rate in recent times is owing to the technology development, whereas others stand with an opposite opinion. In this essay, both viewpoints will be thoroughly discussed in the following paragraphs. Broadly speaking, there are two prime reasons why technology could play the role of offence prevention and solution. The first reason is that it could exert a deterrent effect on some potential lawbreakers. Take the security camera, a product of technological advancement, for example. With the universal security camera in public area, the movement of citizens would be under record and monitor. If the criminals are aware of being monitored, they maybe would think twice before conducting the misdeeds. On the other hand, from the perspectives of crime solution, the surveillance camera performs a vital function to track the offenders and provide the important data about the offences. In spite of this, the other reasons such as raising crime awareness and ever-increasing living standard to deter illegal acts could not be obscured. To begin with, the access to education is easily to the public compared to the past. That is mean that people could equip the ability to distinguish right from wrong, preventing them from leading astray. Moreover, some experts assert that social problems are deeply connected with the socio-economically underprivileged, who are more likely to commit crimes. While with the economic globalization, people nowadays live higher standard life and further alleviate the incentives of carrying out problem. My conclusion is that there are mixed results contributing to this trend. On the one hand, it can be no denying that technology do assist to crack down the crime, but the raising crime awareness and increasing living standard also facilitate this phenomenon.