The crime rate now adays is decreasing due to technology. What extent do you agree?

Advancements in digital technologies have improved the overall standard of living. It has also led to a decline in the crime rate over the years as it aids in preventing and solving the crime faster. In my opinion, I agree to the statement. However, I also believe increased literacy rate also has an essential role to play. In the earlier days committing crime was easier as there was no way to track a person’s movements or conduct in-depth analysis of the crime scene. This has drastically changed over a few years! The innovation of CCTV cameras, GPS trackers, etc. has made it rather simple for the police to keep an eye on the streets and suspects due to which they are able to crack difficult cases and prevent suspicious activities from taking place. For example: During the trail of Ajmal Kasab, one of the terrorists who attacked the Indian city of Mumbai on 26 November 2011, CCTV footage attained from the railway station played key role in bringing Kasab to justice. No just surveillance, the improved technologies have also enabled forensic experts to investigate he crime scene in details. However, I also firmly believe that advancements in education sector and easier access to schools has also helped in the declining number. The children, who attend schools or colleges, are able to mix with the society better and due to an array of opportunities in front of them are able to sustain their family without involving in any misdeeds. This was not the case a few years back as education was expensive and only for the elite forcing the masses to commit petty crimes and feed their families. Therefore, it can be concluded that while technology plays a pivotal role in reducing crime, other factors like education has an equally important part. /