The covid pandemic has resulted in many economic and social difficulties, leading to the influx of workers from major cities to their hometowns.

The covid pandemic has resulted in many economic and social difficulties, leading to the influx of workers from major cities to their hometowns. This tendency is sparking heated arguments in Vietnam’s society. Aside from the benefits that this abrupt evacuation delivers, it also carries with it a slew of unpredictable negative effects. On one hand, the tendency of many immigrants leaving the city to return to their hometown has several positive aspects. The urban population decreased, resulting in less pressure on the city's health system. As a result, the cities’ epidemic situation is controlled more effectively. Furthermore, workers who lose their jobs due to covid will be relieved of their financial burden once they return home. The majority of migrant workers do not receive any allowance or salary while their work is stopped because of covid. They will not need to pay monthly house rent or buy necessities at exorbitant prices if they succeed in returning home. On the other hand, the fact that people rush to return to their hometown without obeying any governmental management can lead to a variety of consequences. One of the downsides is that it will be difficult for the authorities to control the disease if people voluntarily leave epidemic regions without being tested or isolated. An outbreak might be sparked by a lack of awareness among a portion of the citizens. Not only that, unfortunate incidents can also occur throughout the process of immigrants returning to their homeland such as traffic accidents, crime and hunger. These problems are completely unpredictable and quite difficult to control. In general, the phenomenon of laborers leaving the cities due to the impact of the epidemic causes a slew of issues, both positive and negative. This status quo can help reduce the burden on individuals and communities, but can also jeopardize public safety.