his essay will discuss the reason why homework is given more now than before and considerable impacts associated with this trend.

It is certainly true that homework is a crucial part of education for high school students. However, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of assignments which they get in recent years. This essay will discuss the reason why homework is given more now than before and considerable impacts associated with this trend. There exists two apparent causes related to the growth of the homework numbers. To begin with, due to globalization around the world, the education system of each country has to make an effort to change their curriculum in order to catch up with the global study trend. As a consequence, more subjects are taught and what students learn is becoming more and more difficult. That is to say, in some high schools in Vietnam, pupils study not only English but also some other languages like French, Chinese or Korean. Another cause is that the students have the tendency to be competitive. That leads to the greater demand for good grades. Too much homework has a detrimental impact on children. Firstly, pupils can be under a lot of pressure. As a result, that contributes to mental health problems such as anxiety or depression. If you feel down or are in a bad mood, it negatively affects your study and you can fail. For instance, some students in China feel suicidal or commit suicide because of the high expectation of teachers and parents and the numerous assignments. Moreover, students don’t have time to socialise or do exercise. It means they can lack interpersonal skills and their physical health tends to be reduced considerably. In conclusion, although homework plays an essential role in high school students’ life, it results in some issues like being under pressure and not having time to socialise that have a major bearing on them. It is suggested that teachers should give less homework to students and encourage them to be involved in outdoor activities.