Others think that governments must invest this money in public services instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Governmental funding to support arts has evolved into a major topic of concern in modern society. While some believe there are real benefits to this policy, others would prefer to support community services. Both viewpoints are worth considering and will be analyzed in this following essay. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the government should invest in arts due to their crucial role in our lives. Firstly, many people consider art a means of entertainment. It seems that they could relax and chill after a pressured week by going to the theatre and watching various types of plays. Secondly, arts are truly an essential part of cultures and symbolizes national identity. In fact, it is apparent that not only foreigners but also Vietnamese people are able to perceive their own customs by the arts. For instance, the painting called “The wedding of mice”, which is one of the most well-known Dong Ho artworks, reflects Vietnamese wedding customs. On the other hand, it is true that it had better recapitalize public services. The first reason is that upgrading these services will improve the quality of all residents’ lives. In fact, if the government of my country could upgrade public transportation, the traffic congestion would gradually decrease. As a consequence, people might not have to waste so much time commuting and also have better health owing to fewer emissions from vehicles. Furthermore, it will be the poor in our society that will be affected more if the government does not spend enough on public services because they are more dependent on such services. Although both statements have their own merits, I am with the perspective that the government should prioritize financing public services. It is obvious that while arts predominantly bring cultural values, these services are more pragmatic. For example, comparing masterpieces, progressive power supplies have more positive influence on people’s lives, especially the poor. In other words, there is no doubt that investing in either the arts or community services develops the country. While arts bring the preservation of national identity, public services bring the improvement of life quality. However, I do believe that it is more beneficial to put money into advancing public services such as infrastructure, healthcare and environmental services.