The cost of flying has decreased significantly over the last decade. This has made overseas travel much more accessible. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

With an increased number of air carriers, air fares have reduced significantly, thereby enabling more travelers to be airborne. The boom in international travel has brought distinctive benefits for individuals and corporates. On the other hand, it has certain demerits too. The most significant advantage of low-cost flying is financial savings for individuals and for corporates. For example, an average expenditure for a family of five on flying to an international destination is less than a fifth of that about a decade ago. It is a deal-breaker for the upper-middle class. Nowadays, they are less worried financially - fretting less about their accounts - and more enthusiastic about fulfilling their dream of traveling to exotic and remote destinations. The aviation industry also feeds other supporting hospitality businesses such as hotels and restaurants. So, it is of a huge commercial bearing: many countries such as Thailand and Vietnam have 60-70% countries' GDP dependent on hospitality business now, thanks to a regular supply of international travelers; many aggregators such as Booking. com and MakeMyTrip. com sprawled and budded under its shadow and further fortifying back the flying business. Further, corporates, facilitated by the aggregator behemoths such as Amex, are equally benefitted from the decreasing flight prices; now, companies save hefty on their travel expenses. Studies show the savings among multinational giants are as big as 20% of their traveling operational costs compared to that in 2010. Yet disadvantages of increasing international travel are several. The first being negative environmental implications. Typical and natural choices for holidays are beaches or mountains. Huge gatherings at these places mean humungous waste left behind, many being non-degradable. These toxic dumps will remain undegraded, remorsefully destroying these natural habitats. Environmentalists complain that wastages cause huge irrevocable damage to flora and fauna, causing mass species extinction—research on marine life degradation support this grievance. Additionally, overcrowding at idyllic and exotic locations, ironically, sublimes the therapeutic experience, impacting the overall satisfaction of the travelers. Further, during the peak holiday seasons, the lucrative benefits of inexpensive flights are neutralized, if not increasing the total itinerary cost; lodging, eating and flying all become more expensive in holiday seasons. In conclusion, the reduced cost of flying has made visiting international waters more imaginable and affordable, especially for people with the only a handful of budget. However, it is counterproductive during the peak season – over congestion sucks the fun and frolic out of the experience. Also, the adverse effects on the environment are worrying.