THE CAUSES OF VIOLENCE AMONG PLAYERS IN SPORTS

Unfortunately, violence is a part of sports and will be a part of them in the future too. In addition, there are just a few kinds of sports which do not include any types of violence. Violence among players in sports stems from a strategy for victory, expression of players’ frustration, and acceptance of violence in some kinds of sports. The first reason for violence among players in sports is that it is a strategy for victory. In some kinds of sports such as basketball or football, doing hard fouls to the opponent team’s best player is a tactic for victory. Moreover, I have seen some players who injured the opponent team’s players intentionally in order to win the game. Another reason for violence among players in sports is that violence is an expression of players’ frustration. Players can get frustrated in some kinds of sports which include physical contact among players. In these cases, some players express their anger by doing violence or doing hard foul on another player. Another contributory factor to violence among players in sports is that violence is acceptable in some kinds of sports. In some kinds of sports such as American football, violence is acceptable; furthermore, it is the nature of that sports. Also, violence is a part of these kinds of sports, and it will be a part of them in the future too. To sum up, violence among players in sports result from a strategy for victory, expression of players’ frustration, and acceptance of violence in some kinds of sports. In addition, I hope that the number of players doing violence to other players will decrease in the future.