The causes and measures to overcome obesity among Malaysian children and teenagers

Obesity has become a serious problem among Malaysian children and teenagers and measures should be taken to address this issue. According to the World Health Organization, obesity is a condition in which people have excessive body weight and the World Health Organization report shows that Malaysia has the highest number of overweight people among the ASEAN countries with fifty-five per cent being children and teenagers. According to data from the World Health Organization, these people have a higher risk of developing non-communicable diseases, and compared with people who are not obese, the age of death of these people may also be much younger. According to the report by the Malaysian Ministry of Health, Malaysians generally consume foods that are rich in sugar, salt and fat and less than 15 per cent of them exercise regularly. This has caused non-communicable diseases such as diabetes, coronary heart disease and high blood pressure to be rampant among Malaysians, even among children and teenagers. These are the groups of Malaysians who are the Internet Generation and they spend most of their precious time on electronic gadgets rather than cycling or exercising in the park. They sit for hours playing games and not doing any physical activity except for the movements of their fingers. This unhealthy activity can trigger physical ailments such as triggered or locked fingers, gastritis, lazy eyes and cold shoulder. A study conducted by the National Heart Institute in 2016 shows that eating unhealthy food among children and teenagers is a contributor to obesity. This can be seen by the food sold or served in local schools’ canteens which were mostly unhealthy. Unhealthy in this context means that the foods do not have the right balance in which they have excessive saturated fat, too little fibre and high salt or sugar content. In addition, they have no nutritional value and most of these foods contain calories that are not needed by our school children. As a result, many of our school children have consumed foods which are not balanced and healthy. That explains the reasons for the increasing number of obese children and teenagers. In view of the increasing number of obese children and teenagers, attractive advertisements on fast food, carbonated drinks and junk food can easily lure them into consuming non-nutritious food. Fast food offers high calories which exceed the needs of children, carbonated drinks offer high sugar which can cause diabetes and junk food contain colouring and flavouring that are harmful. In a study conducted by a researcher from Universiti Putra Malaysia in 2020, it was revealed that 55 per cent of children between four and seven years old would ask their parents to buy them fast food after seeing the advertisement on television or social media platforms. Even worse, most fast food usually comes in a combo of a snack and carbonated drink - you buy one you get all. To overcome obesity among children and teenagers, cooperation from all relevant parties is needed. Firstly, the Ministry of Education must ensure that foods served and sold at school canteens are nutritious and balanced. This can be done through the issuing of guidelines on food served to canteen operators. The Ministry must prohibit the selling of junk food in canteens and within the perimeter of the school. In doing this, school teachers or representatives from Parent-Teacher Association should be given the authority to prevent junk food from being sold to school children. Secondly, the Ministry of Health can do more aggressive and appealing campaigns on the importance of exercise. In addition, awareness of the dangers of obesity and non-communicable diseases such as diabetes and high blood pressure must be aggressively instilled among children and teenagers. Other than that, initiatives such as cash or other rewards can also be given to schools that embrace healthy living and healthy culture practices and choosing clean food to be sold at their premises. Initiatives could be given so that school staff, teachers and students are motivated to regularly do these practices and therefore, a healthy lifestyle can be instilled among them. Thirdly, the Ministry of Communication and Multimedia should also monitor advertisements especially concerning fast food on platforms that are easily accessible to children and teenagers. Advertisements should be regulated so that children and teenagers are not exploited by them. The Code of conduct for advertisers should be reconsidered by the ministry. This is to ensure that advertisers are more accountable toward consumers and they should be fully aware of their social obligations rather than making huge profits. Finally, the public especially parents should play a more aggressive role in addressing the issue of obesity among their children by adopting and practising a healthy lifestyle. Family members should be engaged with more outdoor activities such as cycling, jogging and brisk walking. The choice is in our hands.