More and more police in the street is the best way to reduce and combat crime

In recent years, when the crime rate witnessed an accelerated rise, it is argued that increasing the number of police on the street is the most effective way to diminish and tackle crime. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement due to several following reasons. On the on hand, there are certain reasons why adding street policemen is considered as a effective way to counteract crime. Initially, the police will obtain the information and situation about the crime cases faster thanks to the available police network. Therefore, necessary actions will be taken urgently and promptly to ensure the safety of people on the street as well as to control and arrest the offender. In addition, the presence of police force on the street can act as a efficient deterrent to any would-be criminal which make them fear out of getting caught and punished. However, despite these mentioned benefits, the unnecessaryness and redundancy are prominent downsides of the increase in the number of street officiers. In fact, the majority of serious crime such as murder, extortion or abduction, which requires the intervention of large police force is not likely to occur in the public leading to the ineffectiveness to curtail crime of additional street police. Futhermore, more police are mobilized, more pressure is placed on the national budget when the government ought to pay more on salary, pension, training fee of the police force in spite of the inefficiency. In my opinion, policemen should be sent and worked at schools instead where they can educate and instruct young people lacking awareness about the laws and consequences of commiting crime. As a result, it does not only help cut down on juvenile deliquency but also enhance the knowlegde and consciousness of teenager on crime-related issues. Simultaneously, the local authority should install surveillance cameras which are affordable, easy to operate and malnipute, especially productive in patrolling the neighborhood. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the supplementing the street police provides society several benefits, however, I don’t agree that it is the best stragety to cease and eradicate the crime.