The books that amazed me the most

Books have constantly been by significant other of my life. I even identify myself as a book nerd who hoards her shelf with hundreds of them. For me, having a single favourite book is impossible, and I do not consider it fair to the wonderment called 'Literature'. Books have always helped me in my tough times, and I often prefer to plunge into the fictional world and never come back. In fact, I've decided to offer the reasons for my preference for three such novels (from a lot of plenty). Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen For a first read, the majority might go with a lighter read. But, I took up this lovely amazement of olden English. This work, set in the 1600s in the typical Austen style, discusses the fascinating bond between the lead characters, surrounded by a wide range of pride and prejudice. As a ritual, I make it a point to read this book at least once a year. But every time, I find a different reason to love the book more. The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Bannerjee Divakaruni Divakaruni and Mythology are like soul sisters. She slays this genre like a queen with a commanding writing tone. I am highly fond of the Mahabharatha, and I have read multiple retellings of the same. The USP of this novel, in my opinion, is its unique narrative perception. The novel moves along the perspective of Draupadi, the Pandava queen and the reason behind the much famous Kuru war. Silence! The Court is in Session by Vijay Tendulkar In recent times, I get highly fascinated by the vast heritage of Indian Literature. In the quest of exploring the same, I found this gem of a book by Vijay Tendulkar. Silence follows a 'play within a play' narration that compels the readers to engross themselves in the book in no time. The convincing characterisations can induce a variety of emotions in us even without our knowledge. In the end, we are definite to accede to its heavier impact and admit to its longstanding stance in our memories.