The best way to reduce poverty is at least 6-year free education.

It is widely acknowledged that education plays a crucial role on economic development. In order to alleviate the impoverishment in some regions, whether free education of 6 years would be an optimal choice triggers an intense discussion in public. I believe 6-year education would mitigate this situation to some extent, but the poor still need more help from governments in the aspects of longer free educational period and more social welfare. Admittedly, 6-year education can open a door for the impoverished to skillful job markets. Preliminary abilities including literacy and basic calculation provides a fundamental for them to explore to the other knowledge. Then they are likely to find the jobs that can pay higher salary than the illiterate ones. In this way, they can afford daily necessities and improve their living standard. However, I don’t think 6 years of rudimentary education is adequate. Governments should supplement them with vocational training after the basic education. In facts, most people with disadvantaged background have no time to conduct the further self-study since they depend on those unskilled jobs to make a living. If working skills could be imparted to the poor via training, the poor would become more competent in the competitive job markets. As a result, they can really make a difference. In additions, financial assistance is as important as the education. In some extremely underdeveloped places where people suffer from famine, it is unfeasible in short term for governments to merely provide free education which needs years to be conducive. Subsidies are more effective in solving the emergency. Moreover, even some residents already equipped with advanced techniques, there are few job opportunities in some remote villages. In this case, the authority should encourage investors to open factories there by tax preference, so that more job opportunities are provided. Therefore, it is obvious that other social welfare is indispensable in both short run and long run. In conclusion, in order to address the poverty, the basic education itself could not work well. Governments should also put efforts in vocational training and financial aids.