Due to Science and Technology, people all over the world are having the same lifestyles. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Due to Science and Technology, people all over the world are having the same lifestyleAdvancements in science and technology have revolutionised our lives and with time we are getting more adapted to it. Many people believe that scientific and technological progress has resulted in similar lifestyle all across the globe. This essay will analyse both views and will provide an opinion in the conclusion. On the one hand, progress in technology has brought people closer in terms of their way of living. People living in different countries can now share same dressing, jewellery, food, housing and so on. For instance, e-shopping websites like e-bay have helped people to order dresses, jewellery, electronic items and so on with few clicks. Stuff that was only available to locals can now be ordered by anyone anywhere. Widespread usage of Internet services has also played a major role in acquiring similar lifestyles. For instance, Facebook, Viber, Skype and so on has changed the way we dress, eat, work and commute. Things that were ionized with local tradition and their possession were an essence of pride can be acquired easily courtesy online banking and efficient payment systems. On the other hand, these developments have taken away the cultural norms and traditions of a society. People adapting to western or eastern lifestyle are slowing giving away their heritage. For instance, in Muslims, wearing shalwar kameez on festivals is replaced with western dressing. Our richness in culture, eating habits, dressing norms and way of living is slowly changing which is obfuscating our nationality and uniqueness of culture. To conclude, the above provide plausible arguments over similarities in lifestyles due to progress in technology, however, not all the developments are positive, there are some negative traits associated with it. Adapting lifestyle is not inappropriate, but one should not forget their local culture and traditions.