In some countries around the world men and women are having children later in life. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

In modern society, young people have a tendency of postponing their parenthood until late 30’s or even early 40’s. The reasons for this phenomenon are the desire to achieve a perfect career and modern fertility technology, which have huge effects on society and parenting. To begin with, the labor market demands solid education from both genders and pushes them through cut-throwing competition for desired positions. Womens have no choice and postpone their maternity to gain higher education and establish themselves in their careers. Furthermore, it is quite a challenge for women to balance between being a mom and professional, especially in order to have an edge in some competitive workplaces, women consequently put off their plans for having babies. Moreover, one of the reasons for delaying childbirth women can buy some time thanks to new technologies. Women can have babies even in their forties due to fertility technologies allowing eggs freezing. This option has given women some flexibility in deciding the right time for them to have babies. It is to say that late parenting has an enormous effect on both society and family. For instance, speed aging of population, which directly leads to a shortage of labor force in future and increases government expenditures on healthcare, consequently, medical treatment becomes more expensive. Furthermore, it may also increase pressure on young couples as they have to face the caring need of elderly family members. These factors could lead to significant cut in berth rates and to graying society. However, there are positive effects such as conscious parenting. For example, older parents who have secure jobs and income tend to have more financial ability to provide their children with great education and healthcare. In addition, without the stress of earning money, older parents can spend more time with their children and accompany them with patience. In conclusion, there are a number of reasons for delaying parenthood such as modern technologies and high competition among young people for better job places, which affects both positive and negative on society and family.