The benefits of computers in modern society far outweigh the disadvantages. What do you think?

The use of computers in modern life has resulted in changes in society. Some of these changes have been to the advantage of society and others have not. This essay will outline both sides of the issue. On the one hand, computers are useful tools offering several benefits to people. They enable machines to do dangerous work instead of humans. For example, in computerised car assembly factories, robots can do hard and dangerous work without stopping. In addition, computers have improved the speed of data processing helping scientists to further develop modern technology. People can go to the moon using computers to control the orbit for the spaceship, the timing of fuel injection and other vital calculations. Moreover, people can shop and book aeroplane or theatre tickets without leaving home. However, computers can be used in many harmful ways. For example, computers can be used to steal people’s private information. Also, with the development of the Internet, previously controlled material, such as pornography has become more widespread, providing children with easy access to it. Furthermore, many people have lost their jobs because computers can shorten some processes in factories resulting in fewer workers being required to control the factory. To conclude, computers are being used in more areas of life such as communication, the workplace and at home. The result is that people are relying more on computers in their daily lives. Despite the disadvantages, it is highly likely that the use of computers will increase due to the various benefits computers have to offer.