The benefit of urbanization

The share of the global population living in cities is expected to be 54% in 2014, and that number will double within the next 100 years. Many fear that this urban population growth will lead to housing shortages and increased competition for jobs. Therefore, this essay will argue that urbanization should be actively encouraged in developing countries. The biggest benefit is increased productivity. Productivity will increase due to economies of scale, as this means more can be produced at lower prices. Transportation is also a major factor as companies can connect with each other more easily and cheaper. Another benefit is related to the environment. City life is more environmentally friendly than rural life. People living in urban areas use less energy and fewer resources than people living in rural areas. The ultimate benefit is an increase in innovation, which aims to create a greener environment by reducing carbon emissions, improving air quality, or developing more advanced, environmentally friendly transportation systems. . Besides, it also aims to improve people's living standards and generate greater profits. concluded, although urbanization in significant amounts can present challenges, it also presents significant opportunities. Therefore, the process of urbanization needs to be accelerated so that cities provide opportunities for developing countries to enjoy the same benefits as developed countries, i. e. improved living standards.