The Average Standard of People's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now.

Due to changes in the lifestyles of individuals and communties, a pessimistic view on the overall futuristic health levels is generally adopted nowadays. In my opinion, I think that the standard definition of a healthy person will indeed decline over the years, where a person of poor health in the present might be considered a relatively healthy individual in the future. Firstly, I believe that one of the main causes of lower health expectancy is the rise of mental illnesses in recent years. It is almost customary now that everyone knows a friend or a relative who is suffering from a mental condition, such as depression or anxiety disorders, which is usually associated with the stress imposed through work and education. In fact, recent research shows that about 20% of people living in western countries reported that they struggle with one or more anxiety disorders, as opposed to very lower percentages recorded in the past decades. Conseqeuntly, physical health is affected by the decline in mental health, where general symtopms of mental illnesses include: insomnia, memory loss, heart problems, and last but not least, skin damage. Therefore, it is almost obvious that the degradation of mental health will contribute to the overall lowering of health standard in the future. Furthermore, the changes experienced in work environments have forced people to change their lifestyle to a relatively less healthy one. Long work hours have left people with almost no time to cook their own meals. a trend that have resulted in a major change in dietary habits, infulenced by takeout and convenience foods, which are well known to be full of preservatives and sugars and are basically not s nutritious as home-cooked meals. In addition, the changes to the environment such as air and water pollution also contributes to the worsening of people's healtth. For example, water-borne dieseses are on the rise in developing countries and there has been no actions introduced to improve the quality of water consumed. To sum up, I believe that if health standards are to be improved in the future, major postive changes have to be made to the environment and to the lifestyles of individuals in the present. Otherwise, health standards could only get worse from this stage.