The aspiration of painting, why do they paint?

We can find the meaning from artwork because the artist will attach their mind into the painting. For example, beauty standard, social stratification, financial position, society situation. Artist in each period have think in many different ways. In addition, it can be described artist thought, emotional and believe. Frist movement I am going to explain is baroque. Most of artist’s artwork in this period are about religious. For example, from the famous artwork “The Descent from the Cross” draw by Peter Paul Rubens. The Jesus is taken down from the cross by the priests (St. John the Evangelist, Joseph of Arimathea and Nicodemus). People who are rich and wealthy are like to commission him for painting to show their respect to their lord. People who are poor cannot commission an artist due to the fact that in that time there are not a lot of painters, the price might be cost high. The opera house is the place that wealth people like to enjoy their free time. Peter Paul Rubens like to draw human body and erotic style or naked. Woman in his artwork might look chubby such as “The three graces” but it is mean they are rich and healthy. In that time, they have an opposite beauty standard compare to the present. Nowadays women who skinny are beautiful. In addition, Catholic church was the main encouraged baroque movement. They made artwork for uneducated people. As a result of this they can learn and understand the religion. In the other word, they use art to teach people about religion. Art is no longer only for educated people. The second movement is realism. From my point of view, realism art describes about truth in the society. The level of people in one community such as wealth, poor, upper-class, medium-class and lower-class. This picture called “The Third-Class Carriage” draw by Honoré Daumier. He wants to express about inequality between rich and poor person. The people in the front of the artwork they cannot afford first class ticket. For this reason, they have to sit on the hard wood bench which is third class ticket and not comfortable at all. They are working-class. The woman is breast feeding her child. While people in the back they wear luxury clothes that mean they are rich or an upper-class people. Due to the fact that they can buy a first-class ticket so they can sit in more comfortable seat. The third movement is impressionism. This artwork called “Impression, Sunrise” draw by Claude Monet. It is called impressionism art because Claude Monet he wants to collect and memory about how impression, beautiful and emotional the sunrise. He wants to express calm feeling, the sunrise over the morning in the misty atmosphere. Claude Monet like to paint with hard brush. He does not care about his artwork it will look realistic or not. While the critic says “the artwork does not look realistic even the sketch on the paper stick on the wall look more better, it is just impressionism. ” The word impressionism inspired to become a movement called impressionist movement. Although the critic said it is satirical not compliment. Moreover, Impressionism artist want to represent about beauty from ordinary thing more than ideal beauty. The last, there's Henri Matisse's fantastic masterpiece "The Dance”. Henri Matisse become a symbol of modern art or modernism. Dance is the most famous of his artwork. In 1909 the Russian collector “Sergei Shchukin” commissioned him to painted a picture for decorate his room. Matisse painted with oil painting on the canvas. The artwork may look like child style but Matisse want to describe an expression that people in the picture figure are happy and enjoy to dance. Their body look like they move in freestyle. The color is lighter and less detail. While the last version (1910) of The Dance has changed a lot in different way. The color is bold, strong and have more detail at the line art. The artwork describes ritualistic or tribal. The modernist wants to show their new concept of life which is not depends on Lord. They create artwork reflect to realities. In conclusion, Baroque movement have influence from the Catholic church. The religious did really affect to people. Even people show their respect to Lord by commission the artist. The realism movement express about the truth which happen in real life. Furthermore, in the impressionism movement realistic is not the important thing. The point of view of impressionism movement are feeling, emotional and beauty from ordinary thing. The last, modernism movement aim to demonstrate their new way of life, which is independent from Lord.