The Similarities and Differences between High school and University Education

Education is very important for the development of the individual and society. There are different levels of education; the two that I will be comparing and contrasting are High School and College. When you compare them, they seem like dramatically different places, but they have some things in common. There are many reasons why high school seems like college. Both high school and college impart to students the knowledge they need in the future. Students both hard skills and soft skills. The wide range of subjects like mathematics, science, history, geography, literature, etc. allows us to learn basic knowledge. Besides, we also find new ways of thinking and the ability to self-manage and solve problems. Secondly, education will also open up better job opportunities for students. They will get a well-pay job and live a well-off and comfortable life. Furthermore, both high school and university also have various kinds of examinations to assess students’ abilities. High school has several tests such as multiple choice and the essay examination, just as the university has. These tests help teachers classify good students or bad students. Despite these similarities, nobody can deny there are some apparent differences between high school and university education. First of all, university students have more responsibilities than high school students. They have to be more independent and make decisions by themselves. For example, they have to manage their schedules and do assignments. In contrast, high school students just have to follow the rules and obey their teachers. Secondly, university students mix with more people from different places in the world. On the other hand, in high school, their classmates usually live in the same hometown. Thirsty, in high school, you spend on average 6 hours each day/30 hours a week in class, proceeding from one class to the next. The school year is 36 weeks long; with a short break in the summer. Meanwhile, in university, you spend 12 to 16 hours each week in class, usually with breaks in between. Times are not limited to daylight hours, many classes are offered in the evening. In conclusion, high school and university are very different but also similar in some aspects.