The application of detention measures to prisoners has become a long-standing rule in society.

The application of detention measures to prisoners has become a long-standing rule in society. However, nowadays, many people are increasingly concerned that prison is no longer the best solution for crime control, and others argue that educational methods seem to yield more satisfactory results. In my opinion, I somewhat agree with the first opinion for a number of reasons. First, I believe that focusing on educational measures for criminals rather than incarceration will bring about a positive change in their attitudes and thinking. Particularly, people with a criminal record are often those who don’t have many opportunities to access a good education from an early age that lead to distorted thinking when growing up. Therefore, it is necessary to give them access to good moral through character training classes, which can help them to be more aware of the consequences of breaking the law and repent in the future. Meanwhile, I consider that in some cases, it is not appropriate to imprison criminals. For example, for prisoners who are psychologically unstable or anti-social, confinement will further keep them away from the community and their awareness will worsen. Secondly, eliminating incarceration for some crimes would reduce the amount of money the state has to pay for prisoners. I mean, the measure of detention should only be applied to subjects carrying a felony or death penalty, but for some violation that not too serious, it is better to apply educational training instead of imprisonment to reduce costs incurred. Because prisoners with light sentences are people who do not have a criminal mentality that is too serious and it can be overcome by educational measures. Thus, instead of spending a large amount of money on unnecessary expenses for prisoners, the state can use that money to run character education classes. From the above arguments, it can be concluded that traditional criminal detention methods need to be limited and replaced by educational methods to enhance criminals’s awareness and reduce costs for prisoners.